All's Faire in Middle School

Posted on March 20, 2018 - 12:31pm

All's Faire

Check out All's Faire in Middle School, by Victoria Jamieson! Homeschooled Imogene has the coolest life: her parents work at the Renaissance Faire, so in addition to her traditional education, she gets to learn dragon slaying and costume design. She is excited to start her next adventure: middle school! Turns out, dragons are not the scariest beasts to slay in the halls of public school: Imogene must navigate the waters of frenemy cliques, cool clothes, and science homework. Even those of us safe from the battles of middle school will feel their heartstrings pull for Imogene -- I just wanted to give all the characters a big hug!

The illustrations are gorgeously drawn and colored. I found myself getting lost in the intricate scrollwork reminiscent of artisans from the Middle Ages. Fans of Roller Girl, Jamieson's 2015 middle school-aged debut, Drama by Raina Telegmeier, and Jennifer Holm's Sunny series will surely shout HUZZAH! for this stellar graphic novel.

Available in print.

--Madeline Jarvis, Adult Services Coordinator